1411 N 27th St.
Mt. Vernon, IL 62864
Phone: 618-246-0033

Open weekends from the first full weekend in May through the last full weekend in October.


10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Docents are available for group tours most other days by appointment. 


Admission is free although donations are appreciated.

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Join Our Mailing List










In recent years, we have looked to other historical villages and to the regional and state level historical societies for perspective on how we are progressing. We found ourselves not just measuring up but already outstanding in many areas. A few highlights are below.

We also found some interesting things others are doing successfully that we hope would be interesting to you. Watch for new developments coming soon!


This year we are proud to announce that long-time stalwart John Howard received the Illinois Association of Museums (IAM) Lifetime Achievement Award. Details of the award presentation and some of John’s many other contributions to our community can be found here.


In 2014, we assessed our status as a small museum, defined by the IAM as having paid staff and budget of less than $250,000 for the year. Competing statewide with museums nearly three times our size, we received the IAM Small Museum of the Year award.


Small Museum Award

 Left to Right: Lucy Baker, Sharon Francois, and Kate Schureman, IAM President


In 2013, we reported on our A Day in the Life of a Prairie Child Program. The program was initiated by a small group of retired schoolteachers in 2009 to show school age children a little about what school was like in the one-room school days. A big success from day one, the program grew as fast as the volunteer teachers could make time for more classes. The Illinois Association of Museums recognized the merits of the program with a Certificate of Excellence award, one of only three awarded statewide.


Prairie Child Pic

Pictured L to R: Sharon Francois, IAM Executive Director Donna Sack, Lucy Baker,

Sharon Nichols, and IAM President Dane Becker